Africa · Western Africa
Dental Schools in Nigeria
20 verified dental schools awarding an initial dental qualification in 19 cities.
Initial reconciliation completed. Every candidate from the official discovery sources has been verified, excluded, flagged as a duplicate or listed as unresolved. Not a guarantee of completeness.
Last reviewed October 14, 2026.
Dental education in Nigeria
Dental qualification structure
- University of Medical Sciences, Ondo describes a Bachelor of Dental Surgery degree program training dental surgeons. Source: unimed.edu.ng · verified October 14, 2026
Registration and licensing context
- The Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria publishes a list of dental schools it accredits. Source: mdcn.gov.ng · verified October 14, 2026
Verified dental schools
- View School
Afe Babalola University dental programme
Ado-Ekiti · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Ahmadu Bello University dental programme
Zaria · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Bayelsa Medical University Faculty of Dentistry
Yenagoa · University faculty
InitialBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)Status not verifiedBasic record - View School
Bayero University Kano Faculty of Dentistry
Kano · University faculty
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)BDS programme (full degree title not expanded on the page)OperatingBasic record - View School
David Umahi Federal University of Health Sciences, Uburu dental programme
Uburu · Dental school
InitialBDS DentistryOperatingBasic record - View School
Delta State University dental programme
Abraka · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Federal University of Health Sciences, Azare dental programme
Azare · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Lagos State University dental programme
Ikeja · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Lead City University dental programme
Ibadan · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Obafemi Awolowo University Faculty of Dentistry
Ile-Ife · University faculty
InitialBachelor of Dental Surgery (B.Ch.D)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Benin dental programme
Benin City · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Calabar dental programme
Calabar · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Ibadan Faculty of Dentistry, College of Medicine
Ibadan · University faculty
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Jos Faculty of Dental Sciences
Jos · University faculty
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)Bachelor of Dental SurgeryOperatingBasic record - View School
University of Lagos dental programme
Lagos · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Maiduguri Faculty of Dentistry
Maiduguri · University faculty
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Medical Sciences, Ondo Faculty of Dental Sciences
Ondo · University faculty
InitialBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus dental programme
Enugu · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
University of Port Harcourt dental programme
Port Harcourt · Dental school
InitialDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)OperatingBasic record - View School
Usmanu Danfodiyo University Faculty of Dental Science
Sokoto · University faculty
InitialBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)OperatingBasic record
How this country was researched
- Research status
- Initial reconciliation completed
- Candidates in discovery sources
- 19
- Verified operating or listed schools
- 20
- Unresolved candidates
- 0
- Excluded after checking
- 0
Discovery sources
- Dental schools accredited by MDCN · Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria
- MDCN list of accredited dental schools (index page) · Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria
Limitations: The MDCN PDF table extracts in non-row order, so only name and city fragments that appear contiguously were quoted; ownership, quota and accreditation level per school were not assigned. Degree titles were verified from school pages only for OAU, UNIMED, UDUS and Bayelsa Medical University; other entries carry a generic qualification. University of Nigeria Nsukka's dentistry site was not readable (JavaScript). Bayelsa Medical University is recorded from its own page and is not on the MDCN list reached. 2026-10-14 follow-up: degree titles were additionally confirmed on faculty pages for University of Jos and Bayero University Kano; the remaining 12 regulator-list-only entries still lack a fetched school page (several university sites returned 403, no dental page, or an empty directory).