Advanced standing (for applicants who already hold a dental qualification)
Doctor of Dental Surgery (advanced standing) (DDS)
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine · New York, United States
Qualification and identity
- Exact qualification
- Doctor of Dental Surgery (advanced standing) Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Qualification purpose
- Advanced standing (for applicants who already hold a dental qualification)
- Awarding institution
- Not verified
- Faculty / school
- Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
- Campus
- New York
- Country
- United States
- Award type
- Not verified
- Entry route
- Advanced standing Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Program structure
- Duration
- 30 months, full-time Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Intake
- January start Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Graduation requirements
- Award received: Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Teaching language
Admissions
Domestic and general requirements
- Existing dental-degree requirement · RequiredGraduate of a recognized dental school outside the United StatesSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Application route · RequiredApplication through ADEA CAAPID plus a $100 supplemental feeSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Language requirement · RequiredProficiency in English; TOEFL iBT only, minimum score 100Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Practical or bench assessment · RequiredDesignated applicants invited to an online asynchronous Kira Talent video assessment; interviews by invitation onlySource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Other requirement · RequiredOfficial ECE evaluation of foreign documents; letters from one faculty member and the academic dean of the original dental schoolSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Examinations and language tests
- NBDE Part I & II or INBDE — RequiredOfficial report sent directly from the ADA to the admissions officeSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- TOEFL iBT — Required · minimum 100Internet-based TOEFL only; report sent directly to the programSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
International admissions: International admissions not verified
Deadlines
- Application deadline · January 2027 startAugust 1Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Tuition and fees
Instrument kit and laboratory fees: not verified. Do not assume tuition includes them.
- Supplemental application fee — $100 basis not stated · MandatorySource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Deposit after acceptance — $5,000 basis not statedSource: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Living costs, travel, insurance, instruments and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.
Clinical training
Patient-care requirements, supervision and placement responsibility: not verified.
Clinical-training arrangements not verified.Recognition and accreditation
National authorization or recognition
Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.
Not verified yet
Institutional accreditation
Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.
Not verified yet
Dental-program accreditation
Accreditation of the dental degree program by a dental-education accreditor. Scope (program, campus, award) matters.
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) Active
Scope: Advanced standing program for internationally trained dentists (DDS), as stated by the college
Source: dental.columbia.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Directory listing
An entry in a directory such as WDDS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.
No directory reference recorded
DentalSchools.app does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDDS, KIDEE, CODA, the ADA or any regulator. A directory listing is not accreditation, and a pending application is not accreditation. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. For Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, confirm current status with the accreditor or national authority named above. How recognition works.
Sources and verification
- https://www.dental.columbia.edu/education/dds-program/advanced-standing-program-internationally-trained-dentists · Official program page · verified October 14, 2026