Skip to content
Dental SchoolsIndependent directory

Initial dental qualification (dentist pathway)

Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS)

Rīga Stradiņš University Faculty of Dentistry · Rīga, Latvia

OperatingInternational applicants acceptedDetailed record

Qualification and identity

Exact qualification
Doctor of Dental Surgery Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
Qualification purpose
Initial dental qualification (dentist pathway)
Awarding institution
Rīga Stradiņš University
Faculty / school
Rīga Stradiņš University Faculty of Dentistry
Campus
Rīga
Country
Latvia
Award type
Not verified
Entry route
School-leaver / direct entry Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Program structure

Duration
5 years, 300 ECTS Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
Intake
February and September Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
Graduation requirements
Not verified
  1. Simulation before clinic

    Practice on simulation models precedes work in the clinic.

    Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Teaching language

Classroom, clinical and patient-interaction languages are recorded separately when the school states them.
  • English — Program languageSource: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Admissions

Requirements are shown as the school publishes them, per applicant category. Examination requirements are never assumed from the country.

Domestic and general requirements

  • Required prior qualification · RequiredCompleted secondary education (diploma and transcript).Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
  • Grade requirements · RequiredAt least 80% in the required subjects; chemistry, biology and mathematics compulsory/preferable as tabulated.Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
  • Science prerequisites · RequiredBiology and chemistry preferably both studied; applicants with both are prioritised.Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

International admissions: International applicants accepted — RSU plans to admit 64 international students to dentistry in 2026/2027 (32 per intake). Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Deadlines

Deadlines belong to a stated intake year and are never rolled forward. A past date is shown as passed.
  • Application period for EU/EEA citizens and visa-free countries · September 2027 entry · EU/EEA applicantsJuly 1, 2027Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Tuition and fees

Amounts are shown in the original currency, with their basis (per year, semester or whole program) and the student category they apply to. Different bases are never added together or compared.
CategoryAmountBasisYear / stage
All studentsInternational students (programme in English)€15,500per academic year2026-2027Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Instrument kit and laboratory fees: not verified. Do not assume tuition includes them.

  • Application fee — €100 basis not stated · MandatorySource: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
  • Registration administration fee (medicine and dentistry) — €1,800 basis not stated · MandatorySource: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026

Living costs, travel, insurance, instruments and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.

Clinical training

Patient-care requirements, simulation, supervision, placement responsibility, required travel and clinical language, as the school publishes them. Missing information stays visible.
  • Simulation facilitiesStudents first practise on simulation models before working in a clinic; 3D simulation devices and mannequins are used.Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
  • RSU Institute of Stomatology, 20 Dzirciema iela — Dental teaching clinic

    Rīga

    Placements arranged by the school

    Source: rsu.lv · verified October 15, 2026
  • A published hospital affiliation is not a guarantee that every student is placed there.

Recognition and accreditation

National authorization or recognition

Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.

Not verified yet

Institutional accreditation

Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.

Not verified yet

Dental-program accreditation

Accreditation of the dental degree program by a dental-education accreditor. Scope (program, campus, award) matters.

Not verified yet

Directory listing

An entry in a directory such as WDDS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.

No directory reference recorded

DentalSchools.app does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDDS, KIDEE, CODA, the ADA or any regulator. A directory listing is not accreditation, and a pending application is not accreditation. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. For Rīga Stradiņš University Faculty of Dentistry, confirm current status with the accreditor or national authority named above. How recognition works.

Sources and verification

Last verified October 14, 2026.
  1. https://www.rsu.lv/en/study-here/admissions · Official program page · verified October 15, 2026
  2. https://www.rsu.lv/en/study-here/admissions/general-requirements-studies-english · Official admissions page · verified October 15, 2026
  3. https://www.rsu.lv/en/study-here/admissions/tuition-fees-studies-english · Official fees page · verified October 15, 2026
  4. https://www.rsu.lv/en/study-here/admissions/when-apply · Official admissions page · verified October 15, 2026
  5. https://www.rsu.lv/en/study-programme/dentistry · Official program page · verified October 15, 2026

Suggest a correction