Initial dental qualification (dentist pathway)
Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)
University of Ghana Dental School · Accra, Ghana
Qualification and identity
- Exact qualification
- Bachelor of Dental Surgery Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Qualification purpose
- Initial dental qualification (dentist pathway)
- Awarding institution
- University of Ghana
- Faculty / school
- University of Ghana Dental School
- Campus
- Accra
- Country
- Ghana
- Award type
- Not verified
- Entry route
- Graduate entry Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
Program structure
- Duration
- 4 years Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Intake
- April 2025 (2025/2026 academic year) Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Graduation requirements
- Not verified
Teaching language
Admissions
Domestic and general requirements
- Bachelor's degree requirement · RequiredGood BSc in a listed science-based course (minimum second class lower or equivalent CGPA).Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Science prerequisites · RequiredGood WASSCE/SSSCE grades in three core and three elective science subjects, one of which must be chemistry; equivalent qualifications acceptable.Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Entrance examination · RequiredEligible applicants are admitted subject to passing an entrance examination and oral interview; shortlisted applicants may apply for an access course.Source: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
International admissions: International admissions not verified
Deadlines
- Application deadline · 2025/2026 academic yearJanuary 8, 2025PassedSource: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
Tuition and fees
Instrument kit and laboratory fees: not verified. Do not assume tuition includes them.
- Application e-voucher (Ghanaian applicants) — GHS 250 basis not stated · MandatorySource: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Application fee (foreign applicants) — $120 basis not stated · MandatorySource: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
- Access course, entrance examination and interview (shortlisted applicants) — GHS 3,000 basis not stated · MandatorySource: ug.edu.gh · verified October 15, 2026
Living costs, travel, insurance, instruments and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.
Clinical training
Patient-care requirements, supervision and placement responsibility: not verified.
Clinical-training arrangements not verified.Recognition and accreditation
National authorization or recognition
Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.
Not verified yet
Institutional accreditation
Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.
Not verified yet
Dental-program accreditation
Accreditation of the dental degree program by a dental-education accreditor. Scope (program, campus, award) matters.
Not verified yet
Directory listing
An entry in a directory such as WDDS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.
No directory reference recorded
DentalSchools.app does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDDS, KIDEE, CODA, the ADA or any regulator. A directory listing is not accreditation, and a pending application is not accreditation. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. For University of Ghana Dental School, confirm current status with the accreditor or national authority named above. How recognition works.
Sources and verification
- https://www.ug.edu.gh/ugds.ug.edu.gh/graduate-admission · Official program page · verified October 15, 2026