Advanced standing (for applicants who already hold a dental qualification)
Doctor of Dental Medicine (DMD)
University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine · San Juan, Puerto Rico
Qualification and identity
- Exact qualification
- Doctor of Dental Medicine Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Qualification purpose
- Advanced standing (for applicants who already hold a dental qualification)
- Awarding institution
- University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
- Faculty / school
- University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine
- Campus
- San Juan
- Country
- Puerto Rico
- Award type
- Not verified
- Entry route
- Advanced standing Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Program structure
- Duration
- Five-week summer course followed by two years of full-time dental curriculum (third and fourth years) Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Intake
- Not verified
- Graduation requirements
- Graduates earn the Doctor of Dental Medicine degree. The school states that licensure in Puerto Rico requires complying with the Puerto Rico dental board requirements. Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Teaching language
- Spanish — Patient interactionSpanish proficiency is required and evaluated at interview; ample knowledge of English is required.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Admissions
Domestic and general requirements
- Existing dental-degree requirement · RequiredGraduates of international dental schools with a degree, diploma or certificate in dentistry recognized by the civil authorities of that country; credentials evaluated by an international credential evaluation service.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Language requirement · RequiredSpanish proficiency required; ample knowledge of English; TOEFL required.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Interview · RequiredSelected candidates are invited to an interview, conducted in Spanish.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Practical or bench assessment · RequiredBench test of standard dental procedures; no candidate is accepted without an interview and bench test.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Grade requirements · RequiredMinimum dental school GPA of 2.00 on a 4.00 scale, or equivalent.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Application route · RequiredApplications through the ADEA CAAPID centralized service plus a supplemental application.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Application fee · RequiredSupplemental application fee of $50.00, non-refundable.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Nationality restriction · RequiredAvailable to U.S. citizens, permanent residents and international students.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Examinations and language tests
- NBDE Part I / INBDE — RequiredCandidates must pass part I of the National Dental Board Examination or the Integrated National Dental Board Examination.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- TOEFL — RequiredStudent copies of score reports are not acceptable.Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
International admissions: International admissions not verified
Deadlines
- CAAPID application period · Entry cycle (published page)August 1 to October 15 of the year of admissionSource: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Tuition and fees
Instrument kit and laboratory fees: not verified. Do not assume tuition includes them.
- Supplemental application fee — $50 basis not stated · MandatoryRefunds: Non-refundableSource: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
- Administrative and clinical utilization fee for interview and bench test — $175 basis not stated · MandatorySource: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Living costs, travel, insurance, instruments and clinical-stage charges are separate from tuition. Comparing costs across countries.
Clinical training
Patient-care requirements, supervision and placement responsibility: not verified.
Clinical-training arrangements not verified.Recognition and accreditation
National authorization or recognition
Permission from the national education or health authority to run the program or award the degree.
Not verified yet
Institutional accreditation
Accreditation of the university or institution as a whole.
Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) Active
Scope: Medical Sciences Campus of the University of Puerto Rico
Campus accreditation statement on the school's site.
Source: dental.rcm.upr.edu · verified October 14, 2026
Dental-program accreditation
Accreditation of the dental degree program by a dental-education accreditor. Scope (program, campus, award) matters.
Not verified yet
Directory listing
An entry in a directory such as WDDS. A listing is not accreditation or endorsement.
No directory reference recorded
DentalSchools.app does not accredit or approve schools and is not affiliated with WDDS, KIDEE, CODA, the ADA or any regulator. A directory listing is not accreditation, and a pending application is not accreditation. A missing record means we have not verified it, not that it does not exist. For University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine, confirm current status with the accreditor or national authority named above. How recognition works.
Sources and verification
- https://dental.rcm.upr.edu/advanced-placement-program/ · Official program page · verified October 14, 2026