Initial Dental Qualifications
An initial dental qualification is the degree that is the entry route to practising as a dentist in its own system: a Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS), Doctor of Dental Medicine (DMD), Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS), BChD, BDent or a national equivalent. The exact official award is shown on every program.
This list never mixes in advanced-standing programs for dentists who already qualified abroad, postgraduate specialty programs or research degrees; each has its own page.
1,312 initial dental programs · page 25 of 27
Sorted alphabetically by school. Tuition is shown in the original currency; nothing is converted or ranked.
Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS)
University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry
Oklahoma City, United States
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordDoctor of Dental Medicine (medical dentist)
University of Oradea Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy
Oradea, Romania
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Norwegian
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordMaster in dentistry (odontologi), 5 years, 300 credits
University of Oslo Faculty of Dentistry
Oslo, Norway
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Norwegian
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic record- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingInternational applicants acceptedBasic recordDoctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) degree (licentiate)
University of Oulu Faculty of Medicine (Dentistry)
Oulu, Finland
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of Oviedo Faculty of Medicine (Dentistry degree)
Oviedo, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics (Laurea magistrale a ciclo unico in Odontoiatria e protesi dentaria, class LM-46)
University of Padua, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics degree course
Padova, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree, class LM-46 R (Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics)
University of Palermo, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics single-cycle degree course (LM-46 R)
Palermo, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)
University of Papua New Guinea School of Medicine and Health Sciences - Dentistry
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontologia (dentist-entry degree title not stated in this source)
University of Paraíba Valley (UNIVAP) School of Dentistry
São José dos Campos, Brazil
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics (Laurea magistrale a ciclo unico in Odontoiatria e protesi dentaria, class LM-46)
University of Parma, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics degree course
Parma, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordDoctor of Medicine in Dentistry (D.M.D.)
University of Pécs Medical School (dentistry program)
Pécs, Hungary
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- English
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordDoctor of Dental Medicine (DMD)
University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine
Philadelphia, United States
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics (Laurea magistrale a ciclo unico in Odontoiatria e protesi dentaria, class LM-46)
University of Pisa, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics degree course
Pisa, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordDoctor of Dental Medicine (DMD)
University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
Pittsburgh, United States
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)
University of Plymouth Peninsula Dental School
Plymouth, United Kingdom
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordDental degree (title not stated on the MDCN list)
University of Port Harcourt dental programme
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordIntegrated master's degree in Dental Medicine (Mestrado Integrado em Medicina Dentária)
University of Porto Faculty of Dental Medicine
Porto, Portugal
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)
University of Portsmouth Dental Surgery BDS
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordIntegrated academic studies of dentistry (six years, 360 ECTS; degree title not quoted)
University of Priština (Kosovska Mitrovica) Faculty of Medicine, Integrated academic studies of dentistry
Kosovska Mitrovica, Kosovo
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordDoctor of Dental Medicine (DMD)
University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine
San Juan, Puerto Rico
- Entry:
- Graduate entry
- Duration:
- 4 years
- Teaching language:
- Spanish and English
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingDetailed record- Entry:
- Graduate entry
- Duration:
- 3.5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- A$80,064 per academic year (2026)
InitialOperatingRestricted eligibilityBasic recordState examination in dentistry (Zahnärztliche Prüfung) leading to licensure as dentist
University of Regensburg - Dentistry (Zahnmedizin)
Regensburg, Germany
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontologia (dentist-entry degree title not stated in this source)
University of Ribeirão Preto (UNAERP) School of Dentistry
Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic record- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verifiedSeparate English-taught track available
- Tuition:
- €12,000 per academic year (2026-2027)
InitialOperatingBasic recordDoctor of Dental Medicine (dr.med.dent.)
University of Rijeka Faculty of Dental Medicine
Rijeka, Croatia
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Croatian
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics (Laurea magistrale a ciclo unico in Odontoiatria e protesi dentaria, class LM-46)
University of Rome Tor Vergata, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics degree course
Roma, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordState examination in dentistry (Zahnärztliche Prüfung) leading to licensure as dentist
University of Rostock - Dentistry (Zahnmedizin)
Rostock, Germany
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of Salamanca Faculty of Medicine (Dentistry degree)
Salamanca, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordSingle-cycle master's degree in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics (class LM-46), 6 years
University of Salerno, Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics single-cycle master's degree course
Fisciano, Italy
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of Santiago de Compostela Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontologia (dentist-entry degree title not stated in this source)
University of São Francisco (USF) School of Dentistry
Bragança Paulista, Brazil
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordIntegrated study of cycles I and II (Dental Medicine)
University of Sarajevo Faculty of Dentistry with Dental Clinical Centre
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verifiedSeparate English-taught track available
- Tuition:
- BAM 12,000 basis not stated (2026-2027)
InitialOperatingBasic record- Entry:
- Graduate entry
- Duration:
- 4 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- CA$44,928 per academic year (2026-2027)
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontostomatology degree (title not stated on the pages reached)
University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako Faculty of Medicine and Odontostomatology (FMOS)
Bamako, Mali
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of Seville Faculty of Dentistry
Sevilla, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)
University of Sheffield School of Clinical Dentistry
Sheffield, United Kingdom
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontologia (dentist-entry degree title not stated in this source)
University of Sorocaba (UNISO) School of Dentistry
Sorocaba, Brazil
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordDental Medicine study (integrated)
University of Split School of Medicine (Dental Medicine study)
Split, Croatia
- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 6 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingRestricted eligibilityBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic record- Entry:
- Direct entry
- Duration:
- 5 years
- Teaching language:
- Estonian
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordOdontologia (dentist-entry degree title not stated in this source)
University of Taubaté (UNITAU) School of Dentistry
Taubaté, Brazil
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic recordDoctor of Dental Surgery (DDS)
University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
Memphis, United States
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialStatus not verifiedBasic record- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- 5.5 years
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of the Balearic Islands, ADEMA University School of Dentistry
Palma, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic recordBachelor's degree in Dentistry (Grado en Odontología)
University of the Basque Country Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Leioa, Spain
- Entry:
- Not verified
- Duration:
- Not verified
- Teaching language:
- Not verified
- Tuition:
- Not verified
InitialOperatingBasic record
Reading a dental qualification
Titles in our filters group awards for search only — BChD, BDent / BDSc, BDS, DDS (Doctor of Dental Surgery), DMD (Doctor of Dental Medicine) or another national title — and the exact official name is always kept. A DDS or DMD is a professional degree, not a research PhD. Whether a degree allows you to practise in a given country is decided by that country's regulator.
Already a dentist?
Programs for dentists educated outside the country are listed separately. Dental programs for internationally educated dentists · Postgraduate specialties · Recognition explained